Surety Solutions
Ë
Crystal Ignatowski By Crystal Ignatowski • April 14, 2016

Oregon Construction Flagging Contractors: Licensed & Bonded

oregon construction flagging contractor bond

 

Oregon construction flagging contractors will need to become licensed and bonded soon. Senate Bill 596 was signed into law June of 2015 and it takes effect on July 1, 2017.

Once the bill takes effect, construction flagging contractors in Oregon will no longer be able to work without an Oregon Contractor License and an Oregon Contractor License Bond.

These requirements were made to better align construction professionals and make sure there are no discrepancies between construction licenses.

Who Needs an Oregon Construction Flagging Contractor License?

 

Anyone who employs one or more individuals to act as construction flaggers must get an Oregon Construction Flagging Contractor License.  

 

Exemptions to the Oregon Construction Flagging Contractor License

 

Individuals who hold the following licenses are exempt and do not need to get this license:

  • Residential General Contractor
  • Commercial General Contractor Level 1
  • Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1
  • Commercial General Contractor Level 2
  • Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 2

 

Individuals are also exempt if they are performing work for the federal or local government or if they are a business regulated by the Public Utility Commission.

 

How to get an Oregon Construction Flagging Contractor License

 

Step #1: Submit Application

Submit an application following the Oregon Revised Statutes 701.046

 

Step #2: Purchase a $20,000 Oregon Construction Flagging Contractor Bond 

Purchase a bond from a licensed surety bond provider.

This surety bond is a new requirement. An OR Construction Flagging Contractor Bond promises you will follow all rules and regulations relating to your job.

The amount you’ll pay for your bond will be based on your personal credit history. Those with good credit might only pay $200 for their OR Construction Flagging Contractor Bond. Those with injured credit will have to pay more.

 

Get a free OR Contractor Bond Quote through Surety Solutions:

 

Get FREE Oregon CCB Bond Quotes

 

 

 

Step #3: Purchase Insurance

Obtain general liability insurance in an amount not less than $500,000. Obtain this insurance from a licensed insurance agency.

 

Step #4: Submit

Submit application, bond, and proof of insurance to the Oregon CCB.

 

If you are unsure about if you will need this license and bond in the future, contact the Oregon Construction Contractors Board at 503-378-4621.

 

 

Related links:
How To Get Your Oregon CCB License and Surety Bond

How Much Does An Oregon Contractors License Cost?