Surety Solutions
Ë
By Jud Webre • April 18, 2017

How to Get a Nebraska Dealer License In 5 Easy Steps

how to get a nebraska dealer license



Are you interested in buying or selling cars, trucks, motorcycles, or trailers in the state of Nebraska? State law requires all dealers to have a Nebraska Dealer License. To get your Nebraska Dealer License, you will need to complete a series of steps.

Not sure if you need a dealer license? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.

If you wish to become an auction dealer, please view our other post: How To Get a Nebraska Auction Dealer License.

How to get a Nebraska Dealer License

 

 

Step #1: Complete a Nebraska Dealer Application

You can download your Nebraska Dealer Application online.

For a complete list of requirements, view the Nebraska Dealer License Requirements.  

 

Step #2: Purchase a $50,000 Nebraska Vehicle Dealer Bond

A Nebraska Vehicle Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that promises you will follow all rules and regulations. If you fail to follow rules and regulations, someone can make a claim against your bond.

Not sure how to get an Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.

The bond amount is set at $50,000.

The price you pay will be anywhere from 1-15% of the total bond amount ($500 - $7,500). 

This is a one time payment, not a monthly payment.

 

The best way to see what you'd pay is to get a free quote: 

 

Free Nebraska Dealer Bond Quotes

 

 

Step #3: Submit Other Requirements

  • Purchase liability insurance
  • Purchase worker's compensation insurance
  • Provide copy of franchise agreement, if applicable
  • Provide photographs of business
  • Provide lease agreement, if applicable
  • Pass local zoning

For a complete list of requirements, view the Nebraska Dealer License Requirements.  

 

You also have the option to get a free Nebraska Salesperson License if you are the Sole Owner, Partner, LLC Member, or Coporate Officer of the dealership. More information at end of article.

 

Step #4: Mail Paperwork

Submit all your paperwork to the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board.  Their address is:

Nebraska State Office Building – 1st floor
301 Centennial Mall South 
P. O. Box 94697 
Lincoln, NE 68509 

*Phone number: (402) 471-2148

After your paperwork is reviewed, it will be forwarded to a field investigator. The investigator will contact you to set up a dealership inspection.

 

Step #5: Pass Dealership Inspection

Upon approval of your dealership inspection, return your application along with the newly issued approved Inspection Report to the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board.

You will also need to submit your licensing fees at this time. 

For more information or questions regarding license fees, give the Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board a call at (402) 471-2148.

You will be issued a Treasurer's Certificate with your Nebraska Dealer License. This Treasurer's Certificate authorizes the county to issue your dealer plates.

 

Nebraska Salesperson License

You are granted one (1) salesperson license without charge if you are the Sole Owner, Partner, LLC Member, or Coporate Officer of the dealership.

If other individuals plan to sell vehicles at your place of business, they will need to secure a Nebraska Salesperson License.

Those individuals will need to complete a Salesperson License Application and pay a $20 licensing fee.

For any questions regarding the Salesperson’s License Application, contact the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board.

License Expiration and Renewal

All Nebraska Dealer Licenses are valid for one year. Licenes expire on December 31st of the year they are issued.

For more information on licensing and renewal, visit the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board - Dealer Section.

 

View our FREE EBOOK: "The Ultimate Guide To Car Dealer Licensing"


Related links:

How To Get An Auto Dealer Bond

Motor Vehicle Dealer License FAQ