Did you know there are over 35,000 farms in Oregon, equally to over 16.5 million acres of farm land? Those farms don’t just run themselves; farm workers are hard at work every day tending to the labor needs of all those farms across the state.
Farm labor contractors are the ones who manage those workers and ensure farm work is completed well and properly.
Both farm and forest labor contractors are required to be licensed by the State of Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) under Oregon’s Farm Labor Contractor Law.
How to get an Oregon Farm Labor Contractor License
Step #1: Complete Oregon Farm Labor Contractor License Application (view in Spanish)
Step #2: Complete other requirements
- Provide 4 current passport photographs
- Certification of IRS compliance
- Certification of Department of Revenue Tax Compliance
- Certification of Oregon Employment Department Tax Compliance
- Copies of Rights of Workers form and Agreements Between Contractor and Worker form
- Vehicle Information Sheet (if you will be transporting workers)
All forms can be found on Oregon's website.
Step #3: Purchase insurance
- Certificate of insurance by auto insurance carrier
Step #4: Purchase Oregon Farm Labor Contractor Bond
An Oregon Farm Labor Contractor Bond is a type of surety bond that ensures you will pay your workers their wages.
The amount your OR Farm Labor Contractor Bond must be in is based on the maximum number of employees you expect to employ during the license year.
- 20 or fewer employees: $10,000 bond
- 21 or more employees: $30,000 bond
You won’t have to pay the full bond amount to get bonded. Those with good credit might only need to pay $100 for their bond.
Step #5: Pay licensing fees
The license fee for farm labor contractors in Oregon is $100.
If you also want to hold a forest labor contractor license, the fee is an additional $250. The total fee for both licenses would then be $350.
Step #6: Submit all paperwork to the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries
The license examination:
Applicants wishing to obtain their OR Farm Labor Contractor License must also pass a license examination. Applicants must take the exam within 45 days of being issued a temporary permit.
You can schedule and take your exam at any of the BOLI offices.
You must score at least 75% in order to pass the exam. If you fail to pass the exam, you can retake it, but you must wait the following amount of time between taking the exam again:
- First failure: 7 days
- Second failure: 14 days
- Third failure: 30 days
- Fourth failure: 60 days
License Period and Renewal
Oregon farm labor contractor licenses are valid for one year after issuance. Renewal applications are mailed to licensees approximately 2 months prior to the expiration date.
Completed renewal applications must be submitted to BOLI no later than 30 days prior to the expiration date.
License renewal fees are the same as the new license fees.
Want more information? Check out the Oregon Farm/Forest Labor Contractor Handbook.