In order to start an Oklahoma used car dealership, the state of Oklahoma requires you to get an Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Dealer License.
Short on time? Read our Motor Vehicle Dealer License FAQ
Oklahoma Dealer License Applications are presented to the Commission Board for consideration the second Tuesday of each month. The below requirements must be submitted at least 11 days prior to the meeting.
How to get a Oklahoma Used Car Dealer License
Step #1: Read Rules and Regulations
Read the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission's Rules and Regulations for opening your own car dealership.
Step #2: Complete Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Dealer License Application
The Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Dealer License Application can be found online.
Worried about a previous felony on your record? Check out this post on getting a license with a felony.
There is also a note in the Oklahoma Dealer License Application about how to apply if you have a felony on your record.
Step #3: Complete Salesperson License Application
Fill out an Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle Salesperson Application for every person that will be selling cars at your dealership.
The application fee per application is $5. Include a copy of your Oklahoma driver's license.
Step #4: Purchase Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
You must purchase an Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond before you can be issued an Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Dealer License. A surety bond protects your customers from fraud or misrepresentation during a business transaction. This is NOT insurance. This is a surety bond and is a requirement for you to get licensed.
Not sure how to get an Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
In Oklahoma, the requirement for a used car dealership bond is $25,000.
The price you pay for your bond is a percentage of this amount. Your rate is determined by your personal credit score and financial strength. Have bad credit? It's okay. We have bad credit options for individuals, so you can get bonded no matter what your situation.
Step #5: Complete Last Requirements
Last requirements can be found on the Oklahoma Dealer License Application packet.
Note that you are required to attend an education program. Attendance is mandatory for at least one owner of the dealership.
Classes are held from 9:00 AM - 12:30 PM on the Monday prior to the monthly meeting of the Used Motor Vehicle Parts Commission.
Complete any other potential forms you may need to get your Oklahoma used car dealership approved by the state. Any related forms can be found at the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Part Commission website.
Step #6: Pay Fees and Sumit
There is a $600 fee to apply for an Oklahoma Used Car Dealer License. The fee is non-refundable, UNLESS the Commission denies your application. In that instance, you would receive your money back.
Send your application to the address below:
Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission
2401 NW 23rd St. Suite 57
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Oklahoma Dealer License Applications are presented to the Commission Board for consideration the second Tuesday of each month. Applicants that are incomplete will be returned and will only delay the application process.
License Expiration and Renewal
Oklahoma Used Dealer Licenses expire December 31st of odd numbered years. For example: 2017, 2019, 2021, etc.
You will need to renew your license before this date to remain in compliance with the law.