Surety Solutions
Ë
Rick Marsland By Rick Marsland • April 12, 2017

How To Get A Georgia Private Investigator License

georgia private investigator license

 

 

Georgia Private Investigator Licenses are only issued to companies. The company must have an individual who is qualified by experience or education to be the holder of the license for the company.

If you are interested in opening your own company, you can do so. Those steps are listed second in this article.

If you wish to simply work as private investigator for an already-licensed company, you can do so. The steps are listed first in this article.

How to get a Georgia Private Investigator License (INDIVIDUAL LICENSE)

 

Note: These steps are for how to get licensed as a private investigator with an already-licensed private investigation company.

If you wish to open your own company, you can do so. The steps are listed at the bottom of this article (COMPANY LICENSE).

 

Step #1: Meet Intitial Requirements

  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have not been convicted of a felony
  • Be of good moral character and have integrity

 

Step #2: Complete Private Detective Exam

You have the option to complete this course before being licensed, or within six months of being hired. The course must be from a state-approved provider and include 70 hours of classroom training.

If you are wait to complete your licensing, the company you get licensed with is responsible for your training. However, you are allowed to do training on your own prior to being hired by a licensed company.

If you wish to carry a firearm while on duty, you will need to apply seperately for a license to carry a firearm.

 

Step #3: Complete Georgia Private Detective License Application

 

Step #4: Other paperwork

You will need to submit the following to your employer so they can complete your registration.

  • Fingerprint form
  • Consent for background check

 

Fingerprints for company licenses are administered online by Cogent Services GAPS or by phone at 1-888-439-2512

Check with your employer on how to get fingerprinted.

 

Step #5: Submit

Your employer should process your paperwork and send to the Georgia State Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies.

Fees for submitting a license application are listed below. Consult with your employer on who pays the fee:

  • Unarmed detective employees: $45
  • Armed detective employees: $70

 

For more information on how to apply, view the Helpful Hints section on page 4 of the license application.

 

How to get a Georgia Private Investigator License (COMPANY LICENSE)

 

Step #1: Meet initial requirements

All the requirements from Step #1 of the individual license (above), plus ONE of the following:

  • Two (2) years of full-time experience as a registered private detective company OR
  • Two (2) years full-time experience in law enforcement OR
  • Four (4) year degree in criminal justice or related field from an accredited university or college

 

Step #2-#3 are the same as the individual Georgia Private Investigator License above

You are required to pass the Private Detective Exam before you can be issued a license.

 

Step #4: Purchase Georgia Private Detective Bond

A Georgia Private Detective Bond is a type of surety bond that guarantees you will conduct your investigations ethically and according to all the rules and regulations provided by the state.

If you fail to do so, someone can make a claim against your bond.

The bond amount is set at $25,000 but you will not need to pay this entire amount.

You will pay somewhere between 1-15% (so $250 - $1,750).

The best way to see what you would pay is to get a free quote: 

 Free GA Private Detective Bond Quotes

 

 

Step #7: Submit Additional Information

  • General liability insurance
  • Certified audited financial statement
  • Fingerprint form
  • Consent for background check

 

Fingerprints are administered online by Cogent Services GAPS or by phone at 1-888-439-2512 . Use ORI number: GA920240Z and Verification code: 920240Z

 

Step #8: Mail all information to the following address:

Georgia State Board of Private Detective & Security Agencies
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217

There is a $100 application fee and a $300 license fee. Total fees equal $400.

Fees are non-refundable so be sure to view the Helpful Hints section on page 4 of the license application before submitting as to avoid losing your fees.

 

License Expiration and Renewal

 

Georgia Private Investigator Licenses are valid for up to 2 years and expire on June 30th of odd-numbered years (2017, 2019, 2021).

To maintain your license, you will need to renew your license and pay a renewal fee.

You will also need to complete 16 hours of continued education through an approved agency each year.

 

 

Related Links:

How To Become A Private Detective