If you are interested in becoming an electrical contractor in the state of Washington you will first need to get licensed.
Washington contractor licenses are issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. You can reach their electrical licensing department at 360-902-5269.
Short on time? Check out our Contractor’s License FAQ page.
How to get a Washington Electrical Contractor License
Step #1: Complete Washington Electrical Contractor License Application
Step #2: Pay application fee of $306.10
Step #3: Purchase a surety bond
Purchase a Washington Electrical Contractor License Bond in the amount of $4,000. You can purchase a surety bond from a surety bond provider like us.
You won't need to pay the entire $4,000 to get your bond; you will just pay a small percentage of this amount.
You will only need to pay for your bond one time until it needs to be renewed.
See how much you'd pay for your bond by getting a free quote below:
For more about how surety bonds work, view this resource.
Step #4: Submit your paperwork
Submit the following items together in a packet to the WA Department of Labor and Industries either by mail or in person.
- Application for Washington Electrical Contractor Application (Step #1)
- Chane Assignment of Administrator's/Master Certification form designating an Administrator or Master Electrician
- A surety bond in the proper amount (Step #3)
If you are going to hire employees, you will also need an Industrial Insurnance Account.
Upon approval from the Department of Labor and Industries, you will be issued your Washington Electrical Contractor License.
For more information, view the Electrical License Certification page.
License Expiration and Renewal
You will need to renew your license to remain compliant with the law.
After renewing, the Department will review your information, make sure your surety bond has also been renewed, make sure you have no outstanding or unpaid citations with the Department, and check to see that your license is in good standing.
You will be notified within 5 days after submitting your information whether your license has been successfully renewed or not.